Patterson Park, Baltimore, MD, US – Pictures – Upcoming Video

* 27 South Patterson Park Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21231

Patterson Park is one of the oldest parks in Baltimore, spanning 300 years of the citys spirited history.

The first known resident of what is now Patterson Park was Quinton Parker in 1669. At that time, it was possible to navigate a small boat up Harris Creek from the Patapsco River right into Patterson Park.

On Hampstead Hill, the ridge where the Pagoda now stands, Baltimoreans rallied on September 12, 1814 to protect the city from the threat of a British invasion.

Patterson Park boasts:

* Almost three miles of paved paths for running, walking and biking,
* Ten tennis courts, located along Linwood Avenue between Baltimore Street and Eastern Avenue,
* 4 full basketball courts, located near the pool;
* A swimming pool, open to the public between early June and late August;
* An ice skating rink opens from October through March for hockey, broomball and public ice-skating; and
* Many multi-use playing fields
* The Pagoda, originally known as the Observatory, was designed in 1890 by Charles H. Latrobe, then Superintendent of Parks.

Please click on the image for pictures.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress | Designed by: best suv | Thanks to trucks, infiniti suv and toyota suv